Change Your World

Being The Best Me I Can Be

Practicing Self Awareness – Part Two

19 Comments

Once you have been practicing physical awareness for a while and getting used to the feelings and emotions that are connected to your physical body  you can start to turn your practice inward.  Start paying attention to your emotions.  How do you feel right now?  Are you feeling stressed out and tired, energized and refreshed, ambivalent, depressed, loved, angry?   Once you have identified how you are feeling right now, try to figure out why you are feeling this way.  This is not as easy as it sounds.  Depending on how you are feeling, this can take some time.  Listen to the thoughts running through your head.  Not every thought pertains to what you are feeling but if you listen long enough you will start noticing a trend in certain thought patterns.  The good feelings are typically easier to track down.  Do this on a really great day and you’ll quickly be able to figure out why you are feeling so content or happy.  Challenge yourself and attempt to recognize the types of energy you feel around you.   They are light feeling and full of joy, aren’t they?   You truly feel like you can handle anything that comes your way on these days.  The challenge comes on your not-so-good days.  Try doing this on a day that you are feeling frustrated, angry or sad.  It can be easy to get to surface reasons for your feelings.  Maybe you were in a fender bender on the way to work and your boss let you have it for being late afterward.  There are obvious reasons for your bad mood but take some time to think about why these events led you to feeling badly.  The events themselves are just events with no emotional requirements all.  You gave them emotional fuel by attaching them to other feelings or past events.   Maybe you were upset because of the inconvenience of having to put your car in the shop or having the additional expense of your insurance deductible.  Then your boss’ reaction (which was less than understanding) made you feel small and powerless over your own life.  With a little more effort you may have realized that these feelings may have ultimately derived from the fact that you feel dissatisfied with your chosen occupation or that you feel like you can never get ahead financially.  Taken even deeper, you may come to realize that you are putting undue pressure on yourself to excel at a career you no longer (or maybe never did) enjoy and that the financial stresses are coming from the pressure to “keep up with the Joneses”.  Again, make an effort to determine the types of energy you feel around you.  It feels so much heavier and darker.  Taking the time each day to discover yourself in this way will help you to ultimately reconnect with your Pure Spirit and to live a much more peaceful and content life.  And by learning the types of energy you feel on your best and worst days, you can identify the moods that are more detrimental to living according to your Pure Spirit and as soon as you recognize them you can move through them and get back to the energies that most serve you.  This practice will also allow you to move through past hurts by allowing you to see the source of the hurt.  Once you see the hurt for what it is (that it is only presently perpetuating the “hurting”), you can be more aware of the perpetuating thoughts and work through them, thereby ending that dialogue.

lao tzu

 

Some things you find out about yourself you may not like but, doing this small thing each day, will give you the opportunity to see what you do not find acceptable about your life and then take action to change it.  Please realize though that one “bad” personality trait or one “bad” situation absolutely does not make you a “bad” person or make your life “bad” (I put bad in quotations because I am using it as a label – nothing is really “good” or “bad” except when we decide that they are).  It is a insignificant fraction of you or your life.  Don’t let any one thing about you or your life define you.  You are so much more than this one aspect of your life and the more you work at discovering your Pure Spirit, the more you will come to realize this.  And if it truly does not fit in with your innermost self, take action to change it.

change

I also promise you that you will find things that you will absolutely love about yourself.  Maybe you find that you are a very generous person, or that you love helping the elderly or that planting a garden gives you a great feeling of accomplishment.  These are the traits to nurture.  This is your Pure Spirit in action.  Surround yourself with the happiness that these traits or activities bring you.  By all means, wallow in it.  By allowing yourself to fully recognize and enjoy this happiness, you are encouraging yourself to find more and more ways to get to this feeling.

nurture

Another very important part of getting to know your self is by sharing yourself with others. There is nothing like seeing how others react to you when you are acting from your best self. One of my favorite things to do, when I am in a much healthier state, is to radiate as much love and happiness as I can when I’m out in public.  I used to be like everyone else and trudge through stores, on a mission to pick up those things I needed and I avoiding dealing with anyone else as much as possible.  Now when I go out I smile and greet everyone I come into contact with and you would be amazed at what happens.  It’s like the whole energy of the store changes.  I have even done it at work and the reaction I have received is astonishing to say the least.  Genuine happiness is attractive to everyone.  Once I started practicing this routinely it started seeping over into other parts of my day.  People that you would not look at and see “friendly” actually smile at me and greet me everywhere I go.  And this small little thing increases my happiness by incredible amounts and I can then spread it even further.  By sharing your most truthful self with others, you will gain even more insight into who you really are at the level of your Pure Spirit.

share happiness

You cannot let the behavior of others dictate how you feel, however.  Then you will have slipped past self-awareness and into self-consciousness.  I have always been a very self-conscious person and as a result I have avoided dealing with other people as much as possible because it was so uncomfortable to me.  I especially hated talking on the phone because there was no way to avoid the uncomfortable lulls in conversation.  I was constantly trying to mold myself to be exactly what I thought the other person wanted me to be without any regard as to how I would feel, think or act if I was coming from my Pure Spirit.  As a result, I would get really tired of trying to be something I really didn’t want to be (deep down it always felt like a lie anyway) and I would start pulling away from the person or situation until I had severed the relationship entirely.  It was very frustrating to everyone involved because no one (including me) understood why it was happening.  Once I figured out what I was doing and why I was doing it, it was a huge relief.  I started behaving how I felt was best for me and quit worrying what other people were thinking about my behavior.  I realized that when I was truly acting from my Pure Spirit, I was much happier and it was a lot less stressful to be around others.  I could truly enjoy being in the company of people without having to try to be an exact copy of them.

hearts

Practicing self awareness can give you so much insight into to who you really are at your innermost level.  It can teach you what your truly value,  what your most important needs are, why you feel particular emotions in certain situations, and so much more.  It can lead you to make changes to get to your most peaceful and happy life.   I will be posting sites that I find that offer other ideas on practicing self awareness.  Even if what I am suggesting for you to try does not work for you.  KEEP TRYING!  Try anything you can to get to your Pure Spirit.  She (or he) is just waiting for you to notice them and once you start working together, you can accomplish anything.

Author: mschristopher13

I am the author of the Change Your World Practice at http://changeyourworldpractice.org/. I am also a wife, mother and sister (I'm one of six children). My strongest desire is to help others live their best lives and I am hoping that by writing about the practices that help me be my best self that I can help others do the same.

19 thoughts on “Practicing Self Awareness – Part Two

  1. Wish I had read this post just a few days ago. I was having a particularly emotional day. Thanks for these wonderful tips.

  2. I have to get away from social media and my calendar to really get in touch with who I am and who I’m supposed to be. I tend to get stuck in people pleasing mode and live the way other people want me to live.

  3. I tend to have to get away from my calendar and social media to really get in touch with who I am and how I’m supposed to live my life. Retreats are great for this too—

  4. Suffering from depression I have had to learn how to be more self aware, although I really need to work on it in more areas of my life. Keeping a check on what’s making me feel a certain way helps control the ‘crazy lady land’ feeling and keep me grounded in reality.

    A lot of this was really interesting, I’m going to have to bookmark it for later reference.

  5. Change does begin from within. Thanks for sharing.

  6. This is something I have a hard time with but have been working on. Thanks for the tips and encouragement.

  7. Wonderful tips. This is something that I have become a lot more conscious of since burning out on my job and on life a half year ago. I’m so much better off today!

  8. Pingback: God Grant Me the Serenity…. | Change Your World

  9. I think that what you put out into the universe is what you will get back. I think if you start making it a habit to smile and to be cheerful to people it will come easily enough and you will get some really great responses. Being self aware is really important if you want to be happy in your life! Thank you for sharing this post today!

  10. Pingback: Why Changing Focus Is Beneficial To Recovery | Change Your World

Leave a Reply

